Wooden it be nice

Well, after a wonderful week’s walking in the Edale Valley, taking plenty of photographs, I arrived home with quite a collection – both of photographs and aching joints!
I didn’t think I was so out of condition, but it was worth it!

Whilst I was there, I started recording a visual collection of patterns and textures from nature. I have always been drawn to trees; their complex surfaces are amazing and upon looking really closely, all sorts of wonderful shapes and images present themselves. What better place to start?

Fallen trees in various states of decay; are particularly interesting; they can be anything from lightly silvered grey, to ochre, rich rust, through to lovely deep chocolate brown in colour; an absolute array of shades and textures.

I also took some photographs of everyday objects to provide me with some inspiration for creating patterns and grids(something I will try to start, if only I can get the other projects finished).

I’ve shown only a few, dear readers, to stop you from dying of boredom or labelling me as a tree-hugger(yes, I have – but only the one).

I know this is too short and hum drum, but I have been busy, so if you’d like to see what I’ve been up to – click here

Hope you all had a great Bank Holiday!
Will post more soon, bye for now

10 thoughts on “Wooden it be nice

  1. Love the close up of the trees so we can see the beauty of their textures! Also just seen your amazingly beautifully made art dolls on Flickr!! Well done!!

  2. The link works fine now, thanks – wow, what stunning work!! (Memo to self – must put “sign up to Flickr” on my To Do list.)

  3. Beautiful photographs! I took a whole series of photographs of old walls a few years ago, they’re pretty amazing too, especially the ones with lichens growing on them.I’m having trouble getting to your Flickr page, it keeps saying there’s an error, so I’ll try again later!

  4. Boy are you preaching to the choir! I am a certified tree hugger and I really believe some of the most beautiful shapes and colors can be seen in trees, both living and dead. Thanks for the pics.

Leave a Reply

