More stitches for the TAST Challenge!

As promised, all my catchup pics of the stitches and I even found time to make a new needlecase for this year.  You may recognise the fabric from the background in Week 3 – just couldn’t throw it away :}
Week 4 doodling with Cretan stitch
Week 5 Herringbone Stitch
I really enjoyed playing with this stitch especially the starburst!
Using Aida fabric seems to restrict my freedom, I know it sounds strange but I think if I deliberately use it regularly for samples, I may be able to ignore all those little squares and enjoy myself”
Week 6 was Chevron 


Finally finished my week 7 detached chain stitch sample for the TAST challenge and I must say that at first I thought this little stitch was a bit boring!
I’d always used it as an isolated, dot-dot, sort of a decoration. I was going to stitch onto aida fabric but decided to use a re-cycled wool scarf that I’d dyed a while ago as the feel of wool is so tactile I thought it would encourage me to spend a little longer experimenting.
Once I got into the stitchzone I got quite excited by the way this single unit can be varied and how easily it makes friends with feather, fly and many other stitches.




 

I am going to use it as a little bag for storing some beads and bits in.  Looking forward to seeing what’s next!
Did any of you find this week’s stitch uninspiring at first??
Love to know!

Barbara
Leave a Reply

