How do you see trees??

I know this sounds a silly question, but I’ve had plenty of time to study my particular love.  Ever since Dad took me to Woolton Woods and Calderstones park as a child I’ve always been fascinated by them.  I used to doodle them whilst waiting on the telephone.  I found the gnarled twisted ones, the most interesting.  Hey, I’ve even hugged my favourite(don’t tell anyone, they’ll think I’m one sandwich short of a picnic!).
  Anyway, this weeks stitch for TAST was Palestrina stitch and once I got the hang of it I was so impressed with the wonderful texture that can be acheived by packing the stitches close together.

I had a sample of a machine stitched tree and a sample of a textured background representing tree bark they’ve been waiting in a drawer for so long I just had to do something with them!  I decide to make them into a fabric book cover and use the subject to explore texture and finishes that would suit all things ‘woody’.
 What  better way to christen it than to use Palestrina stitch.  This was a little turning point for me as I have always portrayed my subject matter literally and traditionally.  This time I asked myself what does a tree represent to me?  Also, for the first time – ‘an unfinished to the eye’ piece, feels absolutely finished!  So there it is; a half abstract/half imagination tree 🙂

I am looking forward to experimenting with more techniques and textures to capture the beauty and mystery of trees.
Hope you are enjoying your explorations, too!
Best wishes
Barbara
PS I know the glass leaf is out of scale but a smaller one is on order!

9 thoughts on “How do you see trees??

  1. wow that machine embroidered tree is wonderful;also the background. Have not started my sample for this week but like you thought straight away about trees, the more knarled the trunks the better I like them

Leave a Reply

