Tast week 31 & 32 – Algerian eye & Cast on stitch

Week  32 was Cast on stitch and very addictive it was, too.  I just loved dropping those little loops onto the needle!!

Considering it is such a simple stitch, you can acheive som complex looking motifs with it and by combining other stitches a great variety of looks, too!

 
 
 

  WEEK 31 Algerian eye is a stitch I did first time around when SharonB (see her website)
 brought out the stitchfiles a great way to learn stitches module by module.

Here is my flower(based on an Amaryllis I had in my conservatory).

I know it is not your usual red and green number, but I really thought I’d call it Wildflower!

The background is felt and the petals are embroidered linen. I backed each petal with craftweight Vilene for body and the centre is lots of french knots with wired stamens. I am quite pleased with the result and hope to do more cutwork in the future.

2 thoughts on “Tast week 31 & 32 – Algerian eye & Cast on stitch

Leave a Reply

